New Music Recommendations

by Philip Moss, Joseph Purcell and Phil Scarisbrick

Franz Ferdinand – Feel The Love Go / Lazy Boy

Franz Ferdinand return with their follow up to 2013’s acclaimed Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, with two new singles in a week: Feel the Love Go and Lazy Boy – both of which are previews to their anticipated forthcoming album Always Ascending. A lot has changed since we last encountered Franz, and following their 2015 collaboration with Sparks, and a full 14 years since their Mercury Prize winning self-titled debut, the Glasgow band are back with a new look line up as well as a promising new sound.

Now a five piece after the departure of guitarist Nick McCarthy in July 2016, Kapranos and Co have been joined by two new members, Dino Bardot and Julian Corrie. Bardot will join the group as a guitarist having previously been in the indie rock trio 1990’s, whilst Corrie will take up both guitar and keyboard duties and is best known for his work producing electronic music under the name Miaoux Miaoux. Continuing the electronic theme, Always Ascending is produced by Phillipe Zdar, one half of the French synthpop duo Cassius , and is best known for the frequent collaborations with Indie pop band Phoenix.

In an interview with the NME, Alex Kapranos stated that the bands fifth record would mark a new direction for the band- ‘This one sounds different from our previous records – it’s a bit wider and less of a ‘straight up guitar’ album.’

Editors – Magazine

Editors have also release a new single this week – Magazine, which is their first since top the release of their top five UK album, In Dream in 2015. Produced by Leo Abrahams (Wild Beasts, Brian Eno, Frightened Rabbits), the single sees Tom Smith delivering his finest Scott Walker impression over a vicious Nine Inch Nails evoking backdrop.

The album, Violence, is out on 9th March and will be preceded by three intimate shows in Birmingham, Manchester and London.

The Damned – Standing On The Edge of Tomorrow

Ten years after the release of their last album (So, Who’s Paranoid?), The Damned return with a new single – Standing On The Edge of Tomorrow. Following a successful pledge campaign, the band – who are most well known for the debut album, Damned Damned Damned (released in 1977 through Stiff Records) – have worked with Tony Visconti (David Bowie, Morrissey, T Rex) on the new LP, Evil Spirits.

In support of the record, which comes out on 13th April through Search and Destroy / Spinefarm Records, the band are also embarking on a full UK tour, starting this week.

Rolling Blackouts C.F – Mainland

Following the success of last year’s The French Press EP, Australia’s Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever return with a new single, Mainland, which is expected to feature on their upcoming, currently untitled debut album.

Inspired by their singer, Tom Russo’s trip to visit his grandparent’s birthplace in Sicily, the song was then recorded in a secluded house studio in Northern New South Wales, Australia. “I was reading about a refugee crisis unfolding not far away in the Mediterranean Sea,” reflected Russo. “The song is about longing, disillusionment, privilege and holding on to love as a kind of shield.”

We’re expecting a big year for Rolling Blackouts C.F, and Mainland is just the start as the Sub Pop signed five piece will return to the UK to take in four dates (Nottingham, Glasgow, Manchester and London) in May.

James Blake – If The Car Beside You Moves Ahead

James Blake has returned with new single, If The Car Beside You Moves Ahead, which is the first released material in his own right since 2016’s The Colour in Anything. He has recently contributed to the forthcoming Black Panther soundtrack, featuring on Jay Rock track King’s Dead, alongside Future and current touring partner, Kendrick Lamar. There are no announcements about an album release as yet, but don’t be surprised to see a new long-player drop at some point in the near future.