New Music Recommendations

by Philip Moss and Phil Scarisbrick

Eels – The Desconstruction

Four years on from The Cautionary Tales Of Mark Oliver Everett, Eels are returning with a new album and world tour. Set for release on the 6thApril, their 17th studio album sees Mr. E co-produce with Mickey Petralia, who previously worked with Eels on 1998’s Electro-Shock Blues. Title track, The Deconstruction, gives us our first taste of what to expect. Interestingly, there is a definite feel of Eels’ previous Patralia-produced work – something that will no doubt please their army of fans. It really is great to have this truly unique artist back.

Mount Eerie – Distortion

Mount Eerie’s 2017 release, the wonderful A Crow Looked At Me, claimed the number ten spot on our album of the year rundown. To follow that up, Phil Elverum has announced a new LP: Now Only. If lead single Distortion is anything to go by, it will continue thematically where A Crow Looked At Me left off. Elverum, clearly still in the depths of grief with loss of his wife and children’s mother Genevieve, delivers a more broad reflection on loss here. Still heartbreakingly talking to her directly, the tone here isn’t so acutely tuned on the time around her death.

Given the hugely personal nature of the music, fans feel far more connected Mount Eerie than they would other artists. That gives us two reasons to hope he continues to make his wonderful music. Firstly, so we can enjoy his immense talents and secondly, so we can check in with how he is doing. Now Only comes out on P.W. Elverum & Sun, on 16th March.

Car Seat Headrest – Nervous Young Humans

After making many of the end of year lists with his 2016 breakthrough album, Teens of Denial, Will Toldeo is back with a new single, Nervous Young Humans. The track, which is the centrepiece and first single from his coming ‘new’ album, Twin Fantasy, is out on 16th February through Matador Records. And I say ‘new’ because the album is a re-recording of a record he self released through Bandcamp in 2011. But, in his own words, ‘was never a finished work and it wasn’t until last year that I figured out how to finish it’.

U.S Girls – Pearly Gates

Having settled into her new home on 4AD, US born, Toronto-based singer-songwriter Megan Remy (aka U.S. Girls) this week dropped Pearly Gates – the third track to be taken from her upcoming eighth LP, In A Poem Unlimited. Having collaborated once again with mixer/co-producer Steve Chahley (who also worked on her last album, and debut for 4AD, Half Free), the track sees Remy move away from the sample heavy vibe of her last record to a more groove laden, pop sound.

Tracey Thorn – Queen

Also out this week was Tracey Thorn’s new single Queen – the first taste from her new solo album, Record. Her first to comprise entirely of original material for seven years.

Described by Thorn as being ‘unashamedly glittering electro-pop’ and ‘nine feminist bangers,’ the former Everything But The Girl front woman’s album also features members from one of favourite contemporary acts, Warpaint’s Stella and Jenny, as well as Corinne Bailey Rae.

Record is due out on 2nd March through Unmade Road/Caroline International.