New Music Recommendations – 10th August 2018

by Dave Bertram and Philip Moss

Adrianne Lenker – cradle

Big Thief front woman, Adrienne Lenker, returns later this year with abysskiss – a solo follow-up to 2017’s critically acclaimed masterpiece, Capacity. 

A softer, stripped-back method grips lead single, cradle, which bares the fruit of a growing need to document the last two years on the road in a more intimate and immediate way.

Produced by Luke Temple of Here We Go Magic, it’s a slight step away from the more direct approach that gave us Shark Smile and Watering – almost like a cradle swinging softly, her vocal floats upwards on a backdrop of cooed backing vocals and intertwined piano and arpeggiated acoustic guitar.

abysskiss will be out on Saddle Creek Records on 5th October.

Anna St. Louis – Understand

This week, Anna St. Louis announced her debut album, If Only There Was A River– produced by none other than Secret Meeting favourite, Kevin Morby, and Kyle Thomas from King Tuff.

Having already put out the Kansas City native’s debut collection – First Songs – on tape, Morby will also be releasing the record, which was made during last winter at Thomas’ home studio, on his Woodsist label.

If Only There Was A River will be released on 12th October through Woodsist Records, and will be on tour with Waxahatchee through September in America.

Paul Simon – One Man’s Ceiling Is Another Man’s Floor

To commemorate his final tour, which crossed over to UK shores last month, Paul Simon’s 14th solo studio album will feature re-recordings of ten of his favourite songs from his vast career. And the first single from the collection is One Man’s Ceiling Is Another Man’s Floor – originally recorded for the There Goes Rhymin’ Simon LP in 1973.

Simon stated, “This album consists of songs that I thought were almost right, or were odd enough to be overlooked the first time around. Re-doing arrangements, harmonic structures, and lyrics that didn’t make their meaning clear, gave me time to clarify in my own head what I wanted to say, or realize what I was thinking and make it more easily understood.”

In The Blue Light will be released on 7th September.

Liela Moss – Wild As Fire

“The act of making this record has felt truly exotic for me by way of its minimalism,” says Duke Spirit singer and songwriter, Liela Moss of her debut solo album, My Name Is Safe in Your Mouth.

Coming out through Bella Union, the record promises to live up to her promise of a fresh and bold adventure. First offering, Wild as Fire, is far removed from the brawling riff-rock of her previous outfit, with synths and a string quartet building a more euphoric musical landscape.

Bella Union will release My Name is Safe in Your Mouth on 9th November.

Marissa Nadler – Blue Vapor

Ahead of her new record, For My Crimes, Marissa Nadler has released second single Blue Vapour – an off-kilter track which holds tight to Nadler’s rhythmic guitars and faint, exposed harmonies.

Finding her place somewhere in between 70s Springsteen and early nineties West coast grunge, the track sees her in the company of Kristin Kontrol (Dum Dum Girls) and Hole drummer Patty Schemel, to plunge into a Cat Power-evoking the musical backdrop.

For My Crimes will be released on 28th September on Sacred Bones & Bella Union.

Mountain Man – Rang Tang Ring Toon

Eight years on from their debut, Mountain Man are set to return with their new album, Magic Ship.

In preparation for the release, the band posted three songs online yesterday: Window, Stella, and Rang Tang Ring Toon – all of which were born from sessions at the band’s home studio, following their reformation at last year’s Eaux Clare festival.

Magic Ship will be released on 21st September via Bella Union (UK/Europe) and Nonesuch Records (ROW).

Want to keep up to date with all our latest pieces? Follow us on social media…